Home Page

Black Torrington Church of England Primary

"A small school with a big heart"

01409 231262


EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage) Curriculum

National Curriculum Years 1 to 6


The curriculum is divided into core and foundation subjects.


Core subjects comprise english (literacy), maths (numeracy), computing and science. Foundation subjects comprise geography, history, art and design technology, physical education, music, PHSE, citizenship, French and religious education where the school follows the Devon Agreed Syllabus for R.E in church schools.


We follow the new national curriculum laid down for each of these subjects and operate a rolling programme for our mixed aged classes, so that every area of each subject is covered throughout a pupil's time at school.


Class 1- Reception, Year 1 and Year 2-operates a three year rolling programme.


Class 2- Year 3, Year 4, Year 5 and Year 6- operates a four year rolling programme.


English covers different genres of fiction and non fiction writing, as well as speaking and listening, reading, grammar, spelling and handwriting. In Class 1 pupils take part in daily phonics sessions. We follow the Letters and Sounds model for phonics , which gives the children building blocks for their future reading, writing and spelling work. We also use resources from Phonics Play and Jolly Phonics.


We use a number of reading schemes such as Oxford Reading Tree,Rigby Star and Dandelion Launchers which link  to the coloured book band system. Children's books for home reading are selected by individual children with the support of staff, thus ensuring that a wide range of genres is covered and that the reading material is of an appropriate level. In key stage 2 pupils then move onto free reading but are still monitored and supported by staff.


Maths covers all the skills that pupils will need when adding, subtracting, multiplying and dividing, as well as work on algebra, money, geometry, space, measurements, problem solving and statistics. At present we are using the New Rigby Stars maths scheme which has been devised to specifically cover the objectives within the new curriculum. Although pupils are taught in full key stage classes they are still working towards the objectives set for their age and ability group. The new curriculum states clearly what children are expected to have achieved by the end of yr 2, 4 and 6.


Science covers work on areas such as forces, changing states, materials, classification, interdependence, light, sound, the body, plants and electrics. This year has also seen the introduction of evolution in key stage 2 and seasons in key stage 1

Core and Foundation subjects are linked wherever possible to provide cross-curricular themes to each term's work. This promotes a greater depth of understanding and interest. Each term pupils are conferenced about what they would like to learn about in the following term. Pupils pose key questions for investigation and staff use the new curriculum to plan skill based activities and challenges that will enable all pupils to reach their full potential.


A broad and balanced curriculum is provided, enhanced by visits and visitors on a regular basis. Each year, Class 2 attends a residential which provides extra opportunities in the form of either outdoor pursuits and challenges or artistic and multicultural experiences.


Information on the current National Curriculum can be found here...


Performance and Achievement Data


The link to the school’s Key Stage 2 performance data can be found on the Department of Education website at:

We've had 4 0 4 4 visitors